How do I stop all charges but keep my data?

Edited

Delete the instance, but leave your volumes unselected in the delete dialog so they are kept (nothing is selected by default). Compute charges stop right away, and your data stays on the detached volume, which you can reattach to a new instance later. Note that kept volumes keep billing until you delete them too, so if you're done with the data, delete the volumes as well.